March 12, 2009

  • Twitter Tweat!

    Twittering has replaced blogging. Now, instead of long sentences and paragraphs about ideas and opinions, we get info about how late you stayed up, your last shower, and how you agree with 'what he said'.

    I was unaware of Twitter until recently, when it suddenly became de rigeur for celebs to start posting their every move and random thought on the site. Now talk shows are filled with accounts of the guests Tweeting and responses to same. Funny how these new technologies creep up on us, and before we know it, everybody has an account on Twitter but you and I. Oh? You've had Twitter since last year? Well, it turns out that Twitter has been with us for a long time now. In fact, due to a Congressional subpoena, some very old tweeters have come to light. The following are examples that I have culled from the thousands of pages released so far.....

     

    1stborn-Meeting with Abel later. Things will be OK as long as he doesn't start with the gloating.

    T_Jeff-Can't believe I wrote that letter to the King. What was I drinkingthinking? Must remind Sally to get it out of mail packet.

    M_Lewis-Hello Peeps! Chassed by bear today, Clark loste boote. Verry cold. Ate last dog fore suppr. 2 wekes out from St. Louis. Trippe over soon, methinks.

    A_Hamilton- Going to lunch with J_Jay after this dreadfully boring duel in the morning. Burr will no longer be a thorn in my side. LOL
         @A_Hamilton-RYC...Witty rejoinder, A_, BTW, Burr is proficient with pistols,.. behoove you to get off 1st shot. ..Please respond -Jadams

    AndyJack- Rec'd spam-junk about war being over. LOL! Not born yesterday.

    Honest_Abe- Rather depressed. Post-war letdown settling in. Hopefully, comedic play we're attending tonight makes me forget troubles for awhile. BBL

    A_Johnson- New telegraph thingie on blink. Waited all day in WH for repairman. Sometime between 8 and noon my a__!

    O-Wright- Successful flight. Longest yet; 1 1/2 mile, but cannot locate suitcase. U?
          @O-wright-Found it! Will be on next flight. --WilburW
          @WilburW- Great. Must see that such occurrences not become common.

    L_Trotsky- Enjoying stay in Mexico, jokes about trots notwithstanding. Death threats will not deter me from fighting Stalinist traitors.  Someone at door, brb


Comments (20)

  • sir, you are the closest thing to a true renaissance-genius I've lately met. (Or maybe we both simply happen to adore the same parodic and knowing style. (By coincidence, I spent a few quality-hours myself last night examining this 'new wheel', from a skeptical distance,  Hmmm.. we are perilously close to coming full-circle, to the Ur-grunts and yawps of Neanderthal 'language'. Priceless, your commentary here.

  • @jsolberg - Full circle indeed. But I think Neanderthals may have been more flowery in their discourse than some twitterers.

    It is good to hear from you. I hope your stay in the belly of the beast is going well.

  • I woke up, thought "sod this" and turned over. Then a short time late I opened one eye then closed it again.

  • @Lovegrove - I poured a cup of coffee and read your comment. I am now drinking the coffee. Thoughts?

  • Forts? They had they uses, boss, but really, they just got surrounded by injuns on a Saturday when tanked up.

  • Hee hee, this is genius.....I haven't gotten into twitter really. I don't need any other internet obsession outside of Xanga lol.

  • Love it.  Excellent thoughts...

  • 1stborn and Honest_Abe made me "lol" in my cubicle haha.....

    Nice one....

  • @epitomeof_aberrance -I love to know what in particular makes someone laugh.  @edlives - Thanks, and welcome to both of you. Drop in any time.

    @AlterEgo909 - Me neither, Xanga rocks!

  • I have yet to do the Twitter but I love finding the celebrities on there just to read their spelling and poor grammar.  I found one Shaq did and it was misspelled so bad that I was in tears from laughing so hard.

  • Moses: hard stressful day slaughtering Midianite women and boys. Handed over virgins to the lads. Must remember to display notice saying for what purposes.

  • Lovegrove: added twitter to Blackbeard's site. Must rermember to start own twitter list and swear blind it was my idea.

  • Having the Mexican trots is an excellent one. You're smart enough to be a Channel Islander. That's someone almost British but doesn't quite make it.

  • @Lovegrove - Actually, I am an Island Channeler. Vanuatu talks through me when I go into a trance. When I drink too much warm beer, out comes the spirit of Orkney.

  • HA HA; Are you of Anglo or French descent? Nobody else matters and I know Septics have been sdhaggin indiscriminantly since Colombo first took his raincoat to the Antilles. I just want to know which bunch of seafaring rogues you sprung from fully formed like wot Zeus dun.

  • @Lovegrove - I have scoundrels from many places hanging from the family tree. The biggfest chunk of my DNA is Italian(3/8), followed by Irish. and then a hodgepodge of Scotch and English.

    The funny thing is, most of my relatives have aviation-oriented careers. My 2nd cousin was McCain's pilot for the last campaign. His dad flew for a basketball team until he retired last year. Another cousin designed wings for Boeing, and two others are Air traffic controllers. I am just wet black sheep. My maternal Grand-dad worked on a mine-sweeper during WW1, so I guess he is looking down upon me with a smile.

  • I assume  a sailor would know I meant to spell shagging; Not quite frigging in the rigging but close.

  • The way people were lovingly dealt with in the barbarian days, which in Texas is due to end in 3009, having people hanging from trees is an honour.

  • Yeh! Right! The Eyetie and Mick luftwaffe. Her Majesty's ministers tremble before them. :o )

  • To my opinion anything you shout is extraordinary
    hot tub sex | edit videos | landscaping

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment