November 7, 2010

  • Incident On Frenchmen Street

    The Xangan Connection

     

    I was between assignments, enjoying a rare moment of java-induced conviviality, but I knew deep-down that it could not last....

     

    backyard relaxing
    Missing author? A bar in Old New Orleans? Never mind
    the mixed metaphor, this has the stink of Xanga written all over it!

    mme memonah
    I had to act fast. First, I drew on my contacts in the area....

    voodoo rooster
    ...who, in turn consulted their sources

    corner of Frenchmen and Chartres St.
    Word of my arrival spread quickly

    frenchmen spooky house
    A lead involving this fashionably decaying house proved to be a dead end...

     innocent cyclist
    What does 'The Tall Rider" have to do with anything?
    I filed the encounter away for later ponderation, ruminizing, what's that damn word? 
    thinking about.

    frenchmen street bluegrass band
    Hard to concentrate with all these annoying street musicians around, their high
    lonesome harmonies paired with impeccable picking, but I have a job to do.

    frenchmen radiator shop
         A call from Mme Memonah;
     her rooster's entrails led to this seedy establishment


    Img_4615
    And there it was, Doah's car!

     

    The frenchmen connection
    That disarming smile hides a wickedly nefarious imagination. The same can be said about Jeff.

    We spent a wonderful two hours with Jeff and his lovely wife Carol, sampling the local cuisine and spirits. Then we had to leave, but not before I received my fee; a signature and personal dedication on the first page of Jeff's latest mystery opus, It's Beginning to Look a Lot like Murder.Thanks for the encouragement, friend, and I will be sure to sign your copy of my first published work.

Comments (16)

  • It was a nice trip and I, too, enjoyed meeting Jeff & Carol. If anyone doesn't know yet, he's a great writer and I'm enjoying his book very much!

    You didn't mention the flat tire in a dark, desolate spot on the road less than an hour from home! No flashlight, but we discovered the light from the cell phone was a help in getting the lug nuts lines up properly. Once the hard part was done, one of the local or state policemen (it was too dark to see markings on his car, and his strobe lights were blinding), stopped to shine his flashlight on the problem. We were grateful for the addition illumination and I'm sure he would have helped more if needed.

    As usual, you were my hero, changing the tire and getting us back on the road in less than 20 minutes!

  • Rooster inerds are very reliable. I must say, if his book is anything like his car, it will be a very good mystery.

  • Glad you had a good meet.

  • Nice deviation and detective work.

  • Holy bovine, there's got to be a special place in Heaven for blokes what can put together such an intriguing and entertaining post like this. Happy for you, and next year, god-willing, it'll be me, (currently mired in the muck of a wet basement)
    Cogitation? 'Rumination' refers, unless I err, to the bovine 4-stomach plus cud-chewing digestive system, btw.
    My regards to Doah; book-signings are like benefit-concerts  I guess, they love you for just being there.
    Oh, and in Israel, we gotta change tires in three minutes, while wearing the mandatory yellow clip-on vest. If the cops get there, it's only to check if it's legally tucked-in at the waist, or barring that, mebbe you lost the purchase receipt, or your grandma's toilet-seat is an illegal color. We're hebrew-speaking Mexico.
    I'll rec this to the Front page, where creativity isn't exactly a given.
    (Incidentally, the Elevator really does transform an obese troll into a center-fold. Thanks for the tip. )

  • It is nice to see people relax with friends and enjoy life. You don't look like a murderous pirate of the high seas, more like the gentle, hard working gentleman sailor you surely are. Nice to see your face full on. A bit scary for small children but I am sure they would get over it very soon. Your mistake of course is telling us where you are. A swift frigate of Her Majesty's fleet is even now making her way towards your last sounding, loaded down with Royal marines. Don't tell yourself. ... oh bugger.

  • Carol and I enjoyed spending a couple of hours with you guys.  It was fun.  Thanks for making the drive.  I'll get around to my own version of the day as soon as I can download my photos.  And now, I guess I need to think about the Panama City Book Fair.

  • @twoberry - @DistantShipSmoke - @Lovegrove - @jsolberg - @C_L_O_G -  Joiwinds took the pictures of the little girls, Memonah, and Isabella and her chicken.

    Abiti Beer is a pretty good brew. Look for it. 

    That car had more writing on it than a Dr Bronners bottle. I should have gotten more pictures of it.

  • @doahsdeer -  Here is the link to our local event...http://www.booksalive.net/

  • It all looks so warm!

    Good luck with that book thing!

  • @jsolberg - Thanks, I will take that under digestion.

  • What a fun post!  Bring on your book, Greg.

  • Gorgeous pictures. Looks like you guys are too pease in a pawed.

  • Just finished up my studies for tonight and figured I'd pop in to say hey. I think I'm the only one that noticed the Gulf South Marine Transportation hats you guys were wearing.

    I hope Jaybird isn't giving you too much hassle when it comes to performing deck duties. They can't all be as good as me. Haha! See ya Captain!

  • @Boatlife - You have a good eye, sailor. See ya on the one!

  • @MelFamy -  Roger on the one!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment